The cave of the Grand Roc


A unique mineral forest

Discovered by Jean Maury on 29th April 1924, the Grand Roc cave was fitted out and opened to visitors in 1927. It opens halfway up an impressive cliff overlooking the Vézère aux Eyzies valley.

The only cave in the Dordogne to be listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Grand Roc is an exceptional jewel. A true "mineral jewellery", it contains an extraordinary quantity of minerals of all kinds, each more eccentric than the last. Crystals of gours, fistulous concretions, stalagmite and stalactites sometimes translucent, crystals in the shape of a triangle, it is a real mineral forest within which you will evolve.

Abris de Laugerie basse

Located right next to the Grotte du Grand Roc, the Laugerie-Basse shelter is a French Paleolithic site which is located in a rock shelter. It is subject to multiple protections as a historical monument, archaeological site and world heritage site.

Abris de Laugerie basse

Opening hours for 2020

8 february - 3 april*

  • 10am to 12.30pm and 2pm to 5.30pm

4 april - 5 juily

  • 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 6pm

6 juily - 28 august

  • 10am to 7.30pm

29 august - 1er november

  • 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 6pm

2 november - 3 january 2021*

  • 10am to 12.30pm and 2pm to 5pm

*closed on Mondays outside school holidays

Closed on December 25, 2020 and January 1, 2021

Last admission: 1 hour before closing time

- Laugerie-Basse shelters: 1h15 before closing time

- Grotte du Grand Roc & Abris de Laugerie Basse : 2h before closing time