Discover Sarlat la Canéda - Perigord Noir treasure

6/5/2020

A one-of-a-kind medieval town

Sarlat la Canéda, more commonly known as Sarlat, is the capital of the Périgord noir. This beautiful city has one of the most important medieval towns in the world, and makes it a unique tourist attraction that should not be missed. Composed of small alleys which intersect with multitudes of small shaded squares, sumptuous mansions with lauze roofs, you will love to walk there, enjoy the small atypical shops and the many cafes or restaurants where you can relax on the terrace.

Among the many treasures to be discovered in this unique city, here are some of the main attractions to discover absolutely:

Saint-Sacerdos Cathedral

Sanctuary dedicated to Saint Sacerdos, the cathedral dominates the city center of Sarlat. Majestic monument whose origins date from the XNUMXth century, it mixes the Romanesque style for its oldest parts with a light and luminous Gothic style. Its original bell tower, a magnificent heart, many small chapels, its stained glass windows and a magnificent organ await you there. It is one of the historical monuments in perfect condition to discover.

Cathedral of Sarlat la Canéda

La Boetie's house

Born November 1, 1530 in Sarlat, Étienne de La Boétie is a famous humanist writer and a French poet. It was notably through his Discourse on Voluntary Servitude that he gained popularity. He was also Montaigne's best friend.

A must-see during your visit, his house, located in front of Saint Sacerdos Cathedral, is easily distinguished from the surrounding buildings thanks to its Italian Renaissance style. Its facade is adorned with large mullioned windows framed by medallion and diamond pilasters. The slate roof is pierced by a modern skylight with luxuriant decoration. At his feet. shops and a small passage leading to a charming interior courtyard in which you will find a restaurant.

Unfortunately, the interior of this exceptional building cannot be visited ...

La Boétie's house in Sarlat
La Boétie's house

Take a guided city tour

The best way to discover this gem of Périgord is to walk its streets accompanied by a guide, who can tell you the stories and secrets that the stones of its ancestral buildings keep preciously. For this, the Tourist Office organizes throughout the year Guided tours of Sarlat. As a couple, with children or with friends, great discoveries await you.

Guided tour in front of the Onlooker statue in Sarlat
Guided tour in front of the Onlooker statue

Stroll and enjoy the street entertainment

In summer, the streets of the city come alive and its historic heart welcomes you in a friendly and festive atmosphere!

No reservations to make or entry to buy, to enjoy this atmosphere, you just have to stroll through the alleys of the city and you will meet jugglers, clowns, acrobats, etc. Stages are regularly set up for shows. In short, there are always great surprises to discover throughout the summer.

street dancer in Sarlat
Street dancer during the mad arts festival

Dreaming at the Sarlat market

You are going to stock up on local and fresh products!

The Sarlat market has become a real institution and brings together each week producers from the region who make you discover the products of their culture and their labor. This is the opportunity to taste foie gras, porcini mushrooms, confits, duck breasts, truffles, nuts, honey, wine and many other typical Périgord products ... directly from the producer!

And every season has its market so no matter when you visit the city, there will always be something to taste!

Sarlat market
The market in front of the old Church of Saint Mary

Enjoy entertainment all year round

Sarlat is a very touristy and dynamic city, so there is always something going on there and you can Vibrate all year round to the rhythm of major events, there will be something for everyone:

  • The feast of the truffle and the goose
  • The Theater Games Festival
  • The Sarlat film festival
  • The Ringueta
  • Terroir days
  • etc.

Discover the Sarlat entertainment program which has been concocted for you this year on the website of the Sarlat and Périgord Noir Tourist Office.

Sarlat Theater Games Festival
Sarlat Theater Games Festival

Photo credit : Sarlat Périgord Noir Tourist Office

Découvrir Sarlat la Canéda - Trésor du Périgord Noir

6/5/2020

Un ville médiévale unique en son genre

Sarlat la Canéda, appelée plus communément Sarlat, est la Capitale du Périgord noir. Cette belle cité possède un ensemble urbain médiévale parmi les plus importants du monde, et en fait une attraction touristique unique à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte. Composée de petites ruelles qui s'entrecroisent de multitudes de petites placette ombragées, de somptueux hôtels particuliers aux toits de lauze, vous aimerez vous y promener, profiter des petites boutiques atypiques et des nombreux cafés ou restaurants où vous pourrez vous prélasser en terrasse.

Parmi les nombreuses richesses à découvrir dans cette ville unique en sont genre, voici quelqu'unes des attractions principales à découvrir absolument :

La cathédrale Saint-Sacerdos

Sanctuaire dédié à Saint Sacerdos, la cathédrale domine le centre ville de Sarlat. Majesteux monument dont les origines datent du IXème siècle, elle mélange le style roman pour ses parties les plus anciennes à un style gothique léger et lumineux. Son clocher original, un magnifique cœur, de nombreuses petites chapelles, ses vitraux et un magnifique orgue vous y attendent. Elle fait partie des monuments historiques en parfait état à découvrir.

La maison de La Boetie

Né le 1er novembre 1530 à Sarlat, Étienne de La Boétie est un célèbre écrivain humaniste et un poète français. C'est notamment par son Discours de la servitude volontaire qu'il gagna en popularité. Il fut également le meilleur ami de Montaigne.

Passage incontournable lors de votre visite, sa maison, situé en face de la cathédrale Saint Sacerdos, se distingue facilement des bâtiments qui l'entoure grâce à son style Renaissance italienne. Sa façade est ornées de larges baies à meneaux encadrées de pilastres à médaillons et à losanges. La toiture de lauzes est percée d'une lucarne moderne à la décoration luxuriante. À son pieds. des boutique et un petit passage menant à une charmante cour intérieure dans laquelle vous trouverez un restaurant.

Malheureusement, l'intérieur de cette batisse exceptionnel ne se visite pas...

La maison de La Boétie à Sarlat
La maison de La Boétie

Faites une visite guidée de la ville

Le meilleur moyen de découvrir ce joyau du Périgord est d'arpenter ses rues accompagné d'un guide, qui pourra vous conter les histoires et les secrets que les pierres de ses bâtiments ancestraux conserves précieusement. Pour cela, l'Office du Tourisme organise tout au long de l'année des visites guidées de Sarlat. En couple, avec les enfants ou entre amis, de belles découvertes vous attendent.

Visite  guidée devant la statue du Badaud à Sarlat
Visite guidée devant la statue du Badaud

Flâner et profiter des animations de rues

L'été, les rues de la cité s'anime et son cœur historique vous accueille dans une ambiance conviviale et festive !

Pas de réservations à faire ou d'entrée à acheter, pour profiter de cette ambiance, il vous suffit de flâner dans les ruelles de la ville et vous croiserez jongleurs, clowns, saltimbanques, etc. Des scènes sont régulièrement montées pour des spectacles. Bref, il y a toujours de belles surprises à découvrir tout au long de l'été.

danseur de rue à Sarlat
Danseur de rue pendant le festival ds arts en folie

Rêver au marché de Sarlat

Vous allez faire le plein de produits locaux et frais !

Le marché de Sarlat est devenu une véritable institution et rassemble chaque semaine des producteurs de la régions qui vous font découvrir les produits de leur culture et de leur labeur. C'est l'occasion de goûter foie gras, cèpes, confits, magrets, truffe, noix, miel, vin et bien d'autres produits typique du Périgord... venant directement du producteur !

Et chaque saison à son marché donc peut-importe à quel moment vous visitez la ville, il y aura toujours quelque chose à déguster !

marché de sarlat
Le marché devant l'ancienne Église Sainte Marie

Profiter des animations toute l'année

Sarlat est une ville très touristique et dynamique, il s'y passe donc toujours quelque chose et vous pouvez donc Vibrer toute l'année au rythme de grands événements, il y en aura pour tous les goûts :

  • La fête de la truffe et de l'oie
  • Le Festival des jeux du théatre
  • Le festival du film de Sarlat
  • La Ringueta
  • Les journées du terroir
  • etc.

Découvrez le programme des animations de Sarlat qui vous a été concocté cette année sur le site de l'Office du Tourisme de Sarlat et du Périgord Noir.

Festival des jeux du théatre de Sarlat
Festival des jeux du théatre de Sarlat

Crédit photo : Office du Tourisme Sarlat Périgord Noir